In memory of Thomas R. Kowalsky, Charter Organization Representative
District Awards Dinner

District Awards Dinner

Just last night, some of our Pack Leadership attended our District Dinner. Pomperaug District, our district, is a lesser known aspect of Scouting to most of our families. This is mainly due to the lack of reasons to interact. But they are an important resource and an invaluable asset when it comes to building, and executing a Gold star program for your Scouts. They are the people behind camporees and other events held that our Pack participates in.

Our Pack won two awards! It earned Journey to Excellence Gold Award and an award for being a Growing Pack! Our district was also awarded JTE Gold and had the most units with JTE Gold in the district!

Our Leaders received some well-earned recognition for their hard work and dedication to our Pack. Being a Scout leader is more than 1 hour a week. Its a lot more than an hour a week and we have some very dedicated leaders. Alyxandra, our Wolf Den Leader, and Dan Cyr, our Webelos Den Leader both have earned their Den Leader Training Award. Our Committee Chairman, Rebecca Klein earned the Scouters Training Award. I was honored to receive The Cubmasters Key, both the Scouters Training Award and Den Leader Training Award. I should have earned these a few years ago but I was never fond of the recognition or the paperwork. What I was not expecting though was being honored with the Unit Leader of Merit Award. Hugh Welch, our outgoing Arrow of Light Den Leader, was Honored with both the Unit Spark Plug award and more importantly, The District Award of Merit .

Congratulations to all my fellow leaders and next year…We earn even more as those leaders not recognized this year will have the tenure for many of these awards next year.

Close Menu